Morgan Dollars

Collectible Coins


Eisenhower Dollar

Eisenhower dollars honoring both President Dwight D. Eisenhower and the first landing on the moon were issued from 1971 to 1978. The obverse of the coin features Dwight D. Eisenhower and the reverse is based on the Apollo 11 mission insignia. The design is the work of Chief Engraver Frank Gasparro, whose initials are on the truncation and below the eagle. Eisenhower dollars were the first circulating dollars struck by the United States Mint since the discontinuation of the Peace dollar in 1935. For circulation, the coins were struck in copper-nickel clad composition, although “silver dollars” were also produced and issued at a premium. Despite the short duration of the series, the different compositions, strikes, and varieties create a much larger and challenging collection.