Morgan Dollars

Collectible Coins


U.S. Quarters


 The Quarter was one of the original coins authorized by Congress in 1792 when it approved the establishment of the
U.S. Mint and the production of unique U.S. coins.  The basic unit of U.S. currency was the Dollar, which was based on
the Spanish 8 Reales Silver Dollar (also known as a “piece of eight”).  The Quarter  (25 Cents) was based on the
Spanish 2 Reales silver coin, which was worth one-quarter of a Spanish Silver Dollar and was known as “two bits.”  As a result,
the U.S. Quarter also became known as “two bits.”


The first Quarter was struck by the U.S. Mint in 1796.  It was the Draped Bust design with the Small Eagle reverse.  Interestingly, the denomination did not appear anywhere on the coin.  This was a one-year-only design, and the Quarter did not appear again until 1804, this time with a Heraldic Eagle reverse design that included the denomination “25 C.”  The Capped Bust coin was struck from 1815 to 1838, and the Liberty Seated coin was issued from 1838 to 1891.  Prior to 1838, all Quarters were minted in .8924 silver, but the Liberty Seated Quarter was the first in .900 silver, a level of silver that remained the standard until 1964.  The denomination on the Liberty Seated Quarter was “Quar. Dol.” more